It’s A Good Day to Be a Fan of Zombies, Offices, and Fat Romances!

October 19, 2010 at 8:48 pm (Television)

  • I posted a couple of weeks ago about how the new season of Chuck had gotten off on a solid start with a couple of good episodes, and while I’m still not convinced NBC is giving the show the respect it deserves both TV-spot-wise and finance wise. While the episodes are all still great television, you can tell they’ve cut things down a bit, giving some episodes an unfortunate B-Movie feel. However, great news came in today that NBC had picked up Chuck, along with other shows, for a full season. They put their full season order at 22 episodes. There are ton of great new guest stars lined up for the next few weeks, and it’s exciting to see where the show with one of the most solid fan bases in the world can go in the next year.
  • Also, I’ve been trying to keep up with CBS reality shows The Amazing Race and Survivor, both of which have proven to be excellent use of my DVR space. The Amazing Race is once again using its tried-and-true formula as one of the most stressful shows to watch, and Survivor’s implementation of Young vs. Old has led to some interesting concepts in the game.
  • I’ve been meaning to catch back up with How I Met Your Mother, but surprisingly new CBS comedy companion “Mike and Molly” has earned a series record for me. It’s gotten a lot of laughs from me, and it’s sort of a combination that reminds me of Yes Dear and The King of Queens.
  • The Office and 30 Rock have both started out of the gate with an incredible set of episodes. I feel like The Office is really shining with what seems like a lot more writing power considering this is Carell’s last season, and although 30 Rock has felt a little sluggish, the Live Show was pure comedy bliss. Community however has debuted with a bang in its sophomore season with some fantastic episodes and gets some of the biggest belly laughs from me on Thursday nights.
  • I’ve also added a series record for The Event, although I’ve not watched any of the episodes yet. I’ve heard some good things about the show and I can’t wait to catch up with it.
  • Mythbusters has been doing some pair-up episodes with Storm Chasers and Dirty Jobs, but continues to be a spectacular show, which is all the more incredibly considering they’re teaching science to a generation like mine in a way that gets kids excited about physics and experiments. Plus, you can’t beat Adam standing in front of a jet turbine trying to see how long he can remain standing, that’s just beautiful science at work.
  • THE WALKING DEAD is easily one of my most anticipated shows of the coming fall, and its easy to see why. A) Frank Darabont (Shawshank Redemption) is directing. B) There’s an unholy amount of buzz surrounding the show. C) It’s AMC (Breaking Bad, Mad Men) so you know there’s some incredible story-telling that’s gonna be behind it. D) The comic is incredible E) It’s a Zombie Killing Epic on television, to my knowledge this hasn’t been done before on this scale. Although AMC only has 6 episodes ordered for this season, it’s all the more reason to give this show a shot. Check it out on October 31st for the premiere.

I’m sure there are a lot more great shows on the air right now and a few I’m probably forgetting that I’m currently watching, but any of the shows mentioned here are definitely worth a look, even though I don’t get a chance to watch much since I’m in college now. So just pop on a series record, give a new show a shot, and you never know, it might be your new favorite. Also, as a side note, darn the flipping jerks that postponed the incredibly funny Parks and Recreation so that garbage Outsourced could get a full season.

9 Comments

  1. darkcloak said,

    I am personally excited for the Walking Dead show

  2. earlman27 said,

    IGN gave the premiere a great review, I am flipping pumped…

  3. KingreX32 said,

    WOAH!!!!!!

    A Zombie Apocalypse tv show. gotta see how this works. Reminds me of Land of the Dead for some reason.

  4. The James said,

    I can’t wait for the walking dead either

  5. KingreX32 said,

    DUDE please tell me you know the Broadcast schedule for The Walking Dead. Please. I fell asleep during the first episode yesterday and in so pissed. Do you know if it will be playing again or the schedule? Thanks in Advance.

  6. earlman27 said,

    They’re showing it Friday at 10:00 PM ET, Saturday 2:00 AM ET, and Sunday 2:00 AM ET.

  7. earlman27 said,

    The regular time for the show (new episodes) is 10:00 PM ET on Sundays.

  8. kingrex32 said,

    Im loving the waking dead so far. I cant wait till the next episode.

  9. earlman27 said,

    Yeah, I’ve sorta fallen behind on it. I’ve missed the past two episodes but I’m gonna do a marathon on it next week on Thanksgiving holiday.

Leave a Reply

