Me and Mr. Phirman

December 3, 2010 at 4:26 pm (Weapons of Mass Enjoyment)

Ok, so I’ll admit this isn’t a huge deal, and it’s not like I got to meet the guy, but this is a site dedicated to my thoughts, and this just so happens to be one of those thoughts. The other day I was working on my project for my Development of American Music course, and I decided that I was going to use Mike Phirman’s single “One for Them and One for Me” as one of the tracks for a playlist that I was going to play for the class. The assignment was to play 10 songs that mean something to you, and that was one of the first few that came to my mind. So just joking around I tweeted about using his song and included his name. This ensued in a brief back and forth that is still sort of going on. Like I said, it’s not like I had coffee with the guy, but it was cool to actually get feedback from an artist that I definitely respect (he’s played with Weird Al before, and he’s a recurring guest on my favorite podcasts). Below is the actual “conversation”.

@jakewilbanks-It’s a good day when I get to use a @phirm song for my presentation in American Music class.

@phirm-“!” Which of my songs is “presentable”!?!

@jakewilbanks-haha I’m using “One for Them and One for Me” for my playlist assignment, have to cite why the song is important, any insights?

@phirm-Why is it important? WHY IS IT IMPORTANT?! It was only recorded in the UNITED STATES, THAT’S ALL!! #itsactuallynotthatimportant

@jakewilbanks-And that good sir, is what sets it apart. It’s an awesome album btw, really enjoyed it. #semiimportantretorts

Leave a Reply

