What To See-An American Carol or Eagle Eye?

September 29, 2008 at 2:42 pm (Movies)

 

Ok, so I was thinking about going to the movies this Friday, and I honestly could not decide what to see. There are a lot of movies out now, and since The Dark Knight is out of my local theater, I have to pick something else. There’s Eagle Eye, this espionage thriller about a man (Shia Lebouf) being pinned as a terrorist and running for his life, which is supposed to be ok. A lot of critics are saying it borrows heavily too much from other spy films, and has 25% on RT right now. Here are the highs and lows of the reviews-

“The movie is so engrossing as an intellectual puzzle and such a solid thriller in every other department that it’s probably actor-proof. ”

“Caruso and Spielberg probably thought they were reviving the paranoid style of 70s political thrillers, but their story is so implausible it barely provokes a tremor. ”

Then there’s An American Carol, which even though is a spoof movie, is from the fathers of spoof. David Zucker, the man behind Airplane and Naked Gun, is behind this one, so I have faith in it. I personally didn’t think it was going to play in my theater, that is until I checked Fandango about 10 minutes ago. You guys haven’t let me down before, you chose Horton last time and it was better than 10000 BC, so I’m trusting you again. I personally think An American Carol is to be better, it looks like a really funny, good time spoof flick. What should I see, Eagle Eye, or An American Carol? There’s always Fireproof too.

8 Comments

  1. nolanator said,

    An American Carol is expected to bomb and has a December DVD release date. Go see Eagle Eye.

  2. earlman27 said,

    Is “expected”. I don’t care if they think it will bomb, I still think it looks hilarious. Plus, so what if it has a december dvd date, so will Eagle Eye.

  3. dragonshensi said,

    haven’t you learned yet/ Don’t put faith in spoof movies Even if it’s from the “father” of spoofs.It’s decendants are retards and this member is no exception.

  4. nolanator said,

    You can always go see Beverly Hills Chihuahua.

  5. earlman27 said,

    Or I could just go staple myself in the groin.

    If American Carol gets horrible reviews, I’ll put faith in Eagle Eye, until then, I believe in American Carol.

  6. The James said,

    here is the thing:

    1) why post this if you don’t listen to our advice

    2) comment to DS. The fathers of spoof comedies were great…then they inbred for generations and now look at what we got *points to epic movie*

    3) EAGLE EYE IS GONNA ROCK

    4) Toaster Waffles Rule your mind!

  7. earlman27 said,

    I really just wanna see American Carol.

  8. nolanator said,

    American Carol may be good. Go see whatever you want to.

Leave a comment