A Week Free From Earl

June 22, 2008 at 4:25 pm (Video, Weapons of Mass Enjoyment)

For those of you who may not know, I will not be here for the next few days. I am leaving for summer camp to do some teen leading. I’m leaving tomorrow and will be coming back probably around Friday afternoon, Lord Willing. Pray for me, and more importantly the young kids I’ll be leading. I’ll miss you guys, and look forward to checking back in first thing Friday afternoon. As always, I’ll leave you with a video to remember me while I’m gone. Don’t talk about me too much on messenger.

Permalink 4 Comments

Get Smart Review

June 22, 2008 at 6:48 am (Movies)

“I’d Like to request a cone of silence.” If you are looking for an action packed comedy laugh-fest, Get Smart is definitely the movie for you. Maxwell Smart becomes a field agent at Control, and is paired up with the lovely Anne Hathaway to help stop a global domination plan by Chaos, Control’s arch-nemesis. Steve Carell is just about perfect in this movie. He does an excellent job of portraying the bumbling secret agent, while making it funny and refreshing enough to help you enjoy it. Anne Hathaway does a great job as Agent 99, even adding some depth to her. The Rock Dwayne Johnson plays great for his role, Alan Arkin is a great chief, and Masi Oka, Hiro himself, even does well with Bruce, the tech geek. There were several funny moments in this movie, including Maxwell’s period of fatness, the swordfish incident, and my favorite, Maxwell trying to get out of the bathroom on the airplane with his mini crossbow. I was a little afraid they had shown all the jokes in the trailer, but that’s simply not the case. The movie spans near 2 hr, which can get a little long in theory, but still holds up. Also, throughout the movie the plot kinda got a little twisty. You don’t even have to be familiar with the show to enjoy the movie, I had never seen the show. If you don’t like Steve Carell, you may not like this as much, the same goes for if you don’t like slapstick. This movie is great from beginning to the very intense ending sequence. Nevertheless, this movie is an purely entertaining movie for anyone with a sense of humor to see. 

4 1/2 out of 5

Permalink 3 Comments